said 10 months, 1 week ago:
I have just recently updated a client’s website. I restructured the site by creating new menu items and deleting old ones and I have written totally new content. The URL stayed the same.
Now, when searching for the site in Google, the search result still shows text from the old pages. When clicking on the link, it goes to a page that is not existing anymore since I removed that menu item. I get the error message that I’m ‘not authorized to see this content’.
I have already deleted cookies etc, but no change in behaviour. Is there a certain time period that needs to pass for Google to scan the new content and overrule the old one? Does anyone know how often Google scans the web for updates?
Or could it be that the old content is still showing up because I did not delete the old pages but they’re just hidden. Google should not be bringing up hidden pages, right?