said 4 months, 2 weeks ago:
Just an observation from someone who’s burned through 15 SEO/SEM firms in 10 years and probably double that in SEO software – when they don’t post pricing, and want to demo you – unless you’re an enterprise site 1.5 mil or more in revenue annually a big money contract will not help your revenue or bottom line.
Site owners get dumbfounded by bells and whistles but here’s what I told Hubspot who wants $3k per month for their inbound marketing program and I’d tell any site owner – do the math. Just to break even, assuming what you’re selling has 100% markup, you need $6k per month in additional revenue just to break even on the $3k spend. If you;re chasing organic it’s a six month curve but to be generous lets’ look a 3 month curve. At $3k per month your SEO software/service needs to help you find $18,000 in ADDITIONAL revenue in 90 days just to cover the cost of your SEO product/service and you still haven’t made an additional nickle – thus unless you’re finding the revenue to compensate for the additional cost, all you’re doing is creating and additional marketing expense with no ROI.